Honorary Medal for Merit for the Czech Academy of Sciences

Honorary Medal for Merit for the Czech Academy of Sciences

awarded by the Czech Academy of Sciences


was established on 21st February 2006 to reward the exceptional activities in the area of the organisation of science and assurance of the infrastructure of research and development.

The motif of the architecturally valuable building, which is the headquarters of the Czech Academy of Sciences, was selected for the medal. It is the first monumental Neo-Renaissance building in Bohemia built in 1861 by the architect Ignác Ullman, who was one of the most prominent Czech representatives of the Neo-Renaissance style. The building stands out with its clear order drawing from the models of Roman and Venetian palaces and a logical internal arrangement. The allegorical sculptural group on the attic was created following the design by Josef Mánes. The completion of the construction from 1893–1896 is the work of the Austrian architect Friedrich Schachner. Such creators shared in its decoration as J. V. Myslbek, the author of two allegorical statues bearing the gallery in the courtyard and two lions on the stairway of the vestibule. The final architectonic modification of the courtyard from 1998–1999 was designed by Ing. arch. Petr Bouřil. The project took the 1st Prize in the category of reconstruction for 1999 in the competition Grand prix of the Society of Czech Architects.

The medal was designed by the academic sculptor Michal Vitanovský. His implemented designs include, for instance, the Order of T. Masaryk and the Order of the White Lion, or the commemorative coins of CZK 50 Saint Agnes of Bohemia, CZK 500 J. A. Comenius and CZK 5,000 Charles University.

List of awarded medals