2017 ACADEMY PRIZE LAUREATES

Social Sciences and Humanities

Prof. Dr. Gabor Hamza / Eötvös Lorand University, Hungary

In Social Sciences and Humanities, Member of Hungarian Academy of Sciences and Eötvös Loránd University Faculty Member Prof. Dr. Gabor Hamza has been awarded TÜBA 2017 Academy Prize due to his works on Ancient Civil (Roman) Law, the different codification processes and its cross-border influence between East-West, and Europe-Turkey, law history and comparative law studies on Turkey-Hungarian law relations.

Health and Life Sciences

Assoc. Prof. Cenk Ayata / Harvard University, USA

In Health and Life Sciences, Harvard University Faculty Member Assoc. Prof. Cenk Ayata has been awarded TÜBA 2017 Academy Prize due to his works on basic and clinical studies in migraine and stroke areas, the effects of the Rho-kinase signaling pathway on brain blood flow, which may be the target molecule in future drug development studies, and revealing the role of this enzyme type 2 isoform in cerebrovascular diseases.

Basic and Engineering Sciences

Prof. Dr. Hüseyin Arslan / İstanbul Medipol University

In Basic and Engineering Sciences, Istanbul Medipol University Faculty Member Prof. Dr. Hüseyin Arslan has been awarded TÜBA 2017 Academy Prize due to his academic and industrial works in the fields of wireless communication systems, interference management and intelligent wireless communication systems in wireless networks, physical layer algorithms, waveform design, cognitive radio, spectrum detection, and wireless communication security. **2016** ACADEMY PRIZE LAUREATES

Social Sciences and Humanities

Prof. Dr. Şerif Mardin / Istanbul City University

Prof. Dr. Şerif Mardin, of Istanbul City University, received the prize in the category of Social Sciences and Humanities in recognition of his works in modernity and religion, modernization in Turkey, ideology and civil society, centre-periphery and neighbourhood-school relations in Turkey.

Health and Life Sciences

Prof. Dr. Mary-Claire King / University of Washington, USA

Prof. Dr. Mary-Claire King, Professor of Genome Sciences and of Medical Genetics at the University of Washington, has been awarded in the category of Health and Life Sciences in recognition of her studies in the field of breast cancer genetics.

Basic and Engineering Sciences

Prof. Dr. Omar M. Yaghi / University of California

Prof. Dr. Omar M. Yaghi, the James and Neeltje Tretter Chair Professor of Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley, has become the receiver of the prize in the category of Basic and Engineering Sciences in recognition of his works in metalorganic frameworks (MOFs).



2020 TÜBA ACADEMY PRIZES



TURKISH ACADEMY OF SCIENCES



TÜBA Academy Prizes were launched in 2015 in appreciation and encouragement of eminent scientists.

TÜBA Academy Prizes are annually awarded to three of the nominated scientists each being in one of the following categories of sciences namely 1) Basic and Engineering sciences, 2) Health and Life sciences and 3) Social Sciences and Humanities. Every year one of the prizes is awarded to scientists with Turkish connection, meaning those who work in Turkey and/or study Turkey.

TÜBA Academy Prizes are given to those scientists with ORIGINAL, LEADING and PATH-BREAKING works in their fields. Nominations are made by TÜBA members, academies and inter-academy organizations with which TÜBA is in cooperation and other science institutions and scientists invited as nominators. Members of TÜBA and those who take part in the evaluation process of the prizes cannot be nominated.

The nominees are evaluated by a Prize Committee in each category. The Committees, composed of TÜBA members and renowned scientists, examine the works of the candidates via a rigorous process involving peer-review and identify the possible prize laureates. The laureates are announced by the Academy Council of TÜBA. The Academy Prizes, comprising an Academy Medal and prize money of USD 30.000 for each, are awarded in a special ceremony. The Prize Ceremony is held under the auspices of the President of the Republic of Turkey.

2019 ACADEMY PRIZE LAUREATES

Social Sciences and Humanities

Prof. F. Jamil Ragep / McGill University, Canada

F. Jamil Ragep for his works that broadened the time and space horizons of the history of Islamic science, and especially for his researches on the ways in which Nasiruddin Tûsî, İbn Şâtır and Ali Kuşcu's astronomy studies were transferred to Europe in the pre-modern period and showed the effects of the emergence of Copernican astronomy.

Basic and Engineering Sciences

Prof. Dr. Adrian Bejan / Duke University, USA

Adrian Bejan for his remarkable number of creative works such as combining thermodynamics and heat transfer in the field of thermodynamics, developing design as a science that brings together all fields, and putting forth "Structural Theory".

2018

ACADEMY PRIZE LAUREATES

Social Sciences and Humanities

Prof. Dr. Bold Luvsandorj / Mongolian Academy of Sciences Prof. Dr. Viorel Panaite / University of Bucharest, Romania

Bold Luvsandorj, of Mongolian Academy of Sciences, received the prize, together with Viorel Panaite, in Social Sciences and Humanities in recognition of his works in Turkic and Mongolic languages, the links between them and especially in the Uighur-Uriankhai and Sayan languages.

Viorel Panaite, of University of Bucharest, received the prize, together with Bold Luvsandorj, in Social Sciences and Humanities in recognition of his works in Ottoman conception of international law, especially law of war and peace and the Ahdnames.

Health and Life Sciences

Prof. Dr. Fatih Mehmet Uckun / Minnesota University, USA

Fatih Mehmet Uckun, of Minnesota University and Ares Pharmaceuticals, has been awarded in the category of Health and Life Sciences in recognition of his works in new treatment modalities against CD19 improving the results in the treatment of leukaemia and lymphoma with worst prognosis.

Basic and Engineering Sciences

Prof. Dr. Jackie Y. Ying / NanoBio Lab, Singapore

Jackie Y. Ying, of NanoBio Lab, Singapore, received the prize in Basic and Engineering Sciences in recognition of her works in the synthesis and applications of advanced nanostructured materials for biomedical, catalytic, energy and advanced materials applications.