## **Smolenice Declaration**

We, Presidents and members of Presidia of Academies of Sciences from the Visegrad countries (V4 countries), namely the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, the Polish Academy of Sciences and the Slovak Academy of Sciences, on the meeting in the Conference Centre of the Slovak Academy of Sciences in Smolenice (23 and 24 April 2007) declare in a common consensus that:

- Participation of researchers from Academies of Sciences from V4 countries in the Seventh Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development of the European Union with allocation of 54,5 billion € for the period of seven years is a big challenge for them to present their scientific and research abilities and skills, and to compete in the European Research Area.
- Participation in the EU Seventh Framework Programme means to respect new financial terms and conditions of supporting the projects, the costs of which must be partially (usually up to 25%) covered by the project implementers.
- Budgets of the Academies of Sciences in the V4 countries, that are substantially dependent on the support of the state budget, are not able to cope with such cost constraints.

Governments in the V4 countries should deal with this problem and ensure generating of resources for co-financing of projects. Otherwise, it would not be possible to ensure return of national means and resources invested by member states into the EU budget for science and research.

Trusting their high responsibility to support own national economies through supporting science, participants of the meeting of V4 countries Academies of Sciences call the governments of the V4 countries to solve this problem in a way that science and research in the V4 countries will be an equivalent partner in the European Research Area.

To make an effective use of the research potential of professional national research institutions, Presidents of the V4 Academies of Sciences call for founding an European Association of Research Institutions.

Václav Pačes

President

Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic

Silvester Vizi

President Hungarian Academy

of Sciences

Michal Kleiber President

Polish Academy of Sciences

Štefan Luby President

Slovak Academy of Sciences